Aims and scope of journal

Founded in the UK in 2002, Contemporary Political Theory has quickly established itself in the top rank of peer-reviewed journals in political theory and philosophy. Under new editorship in 2010, the journal is now based in both the USA and UK and reaches out to authors and readers in Europe, Asia and Oceania. It will continue, through a rigorous peer-review process, to seek out the very best work from the wide array of interests that constitute ‘contemporary political theory’: from post-structuralist thought to analytical philosophy, from feminist theory to international relations theory, from philosophies of the social sciences to the cultural construction of political theory itself. The editors welcome submissions from disciplines outside philosophy and political science, including but certainly not limited to: geography and anthropology, women’s studies and gender studies, cultural studies and economics, literary theory and film studies. Contemporary Political Theory publishes a challenging and eclectic mix of articles that contribute both to rethinking what political theory is and does, and to promoting lively engagements with contemporary global politics.


Impact Factor

2012 Impact Factor: 0.237*


JCR Social Sciences Edition
137/157 - Political Science

*2012 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2013)


Abstracted/indexed in

Contemporary Political Theory is abstracted and/or indexed in:

  • ABI/INFORM from ProQuest
  • Ex Libris / Primo Central
  • International Bibliography of Book Reviews of Scholarly Literature on the Humanities and Social Sciences (IBR)
  • International Bibliography of Periodical Literature on the Humanities and Social Sciences (IBZ)
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
  • International Political Science Abstracts
  • The Philosopher's Index
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts


The international standard serial number (ISSN) for Contemporary Political Theory is 1470-8914 and the electronic international standard serial number (eISSN) is 1476-9336.




Terrell Carver, University of Bristol, UK
Samuel A. Chambers, Johns Hopkins University, USA

Critical Exchanges Editor

Lisa Disch, University of Michigan, USA

Associate Editors

Elisabeth Anker, George Washington University, USA
Alan Finlayson, University of East Anglia, UK
Leigh Jenco, London School of Economics, UK
Alexandre Lefebvre, University of Sydney, Australia
Alexander Livingston, Cornell University, USA
Andrew Valls, Oregon State University, USA

Assistant Editor

Tripp Rebrovick, Johns Hopkins University, USA

Editorial Board

David Archard, Lancaster University, UK
Benjamin Barber, Graduate Center, CUNY, USA
Mark Bevir, University of California, Berkeley, USA
David Boucher, Cardiff University, UK
Bhupinder Brar, Punjab University, India
Gary Browning (Founder Editor), Oxford Brookes University, UK
Daniel Butt, University of Bristol, UK
Molly Cochran, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Conal Condren, University of Queensland, Australia
William Connolly, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Diana Coole, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK
Maria Dimova-Cookson, Durham University, UK
Avgail Eisenberg, University of Victoria, Canada
Bradley Evans, University of Bristol, UK
Rainer Forst, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität, Germany
Michael Freeden, University of Oxford, UK
Xavier Guillaume, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Tim Hayward, The University of Edinburgh, UK
David Held, University of Durham, UK
Kimberly Hutchings, London School of Economics, UK
Yoshiichi Kanaya, Tottori University of Environmental Studies, Japan
Russell Keat, The University of Edinburgh, UK
Michael Kenny, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Will Kymlicka, Queen’s University, Canada
Moya Lloyd, Loughborough University, UK
John Maynor, Middle Tennessee State University, USA
Margaret Moore, Queen’s University, Canada
Jeanne Morefield, Whitman College, USA
Chantal Mouffe, University of Westminster, UK
Saul Newman, Goldsmiths University of London, UK
Bhikhu Parekh, University of Hull, UK
Maurizio Passerin d’Entrèves, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Alan Patten, McGill University, Canada
Raymond Plant, King’s College, London, UK
Raia Prokhovnik (Founder Editor), The Open University, UK
Pierre Rosanvallon, Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Science Sociales, Paris, France
Michael Saward, The Open University, UK
Hideaki Shinoda, Hiroshima University, Japan
Quentin Skinner, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Geoffrey Stokes, Deakin University, Australia
Simon Tormey, University of Sydney, Australia
Joan Tronto, University of Minnesota, USA
James Tully, University of Victoria, Canada
Bert van den Brink, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Rob Walker, University of Victoria, Canada
Robert E. Watkins, Columbia College Chicago, USA
Xiaoping Wei, Philosophy Institute, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, People’s Republic of China
Howard Williams, Aberystwyth University, UK
Karen Zivi, Grand Valley State University, USA